Tuesday, December 27, 2011

World Go Boom: United States of Pop 2011

If ever there was a time capsule of the pop music landscape of 2011, it’s DJ Earworm’s ‘United State of Pop 2011 World Go Boom’ mash up.

The DJ seamlessly and flawlessly smashed the most familiar, popular and beloved songs of 2011, ranging from Lady Gaga‘s ‘Born This Way’ to Rihanna‘s ‘We Found Love’ to Nicki Minaj‘s ‘Super Bass’ in one fell swoop. Not sure how DJ Earworm does what he does in the space of five minutes, but he managed to thread a year’s worth of tunes into a compact song. Bravo, bravo.

Of course, he engages in a little shameless self-promotion in the video, such as superimposing the phrase ‘Who the hell is DJ Earworm’ t-shirt on Maroon 5 singer Adam Levine, along with having his name permanently inked on RiRi’s firm, round patoot.

Some of the songs that Earworm cycled through in this mix include Pitbull‘s ‘Give Me Everything’; Katy Perry‘s ‘Last Friday Night,’ ‘E.T.’ and ‘Firework’; Britney Spears‘ ‘Till the World Ends’; Adele‘s ‘Rolling in the Deep’ and ‘Someone Like You’; Cee Lo Green‘s ‘Forget You’; Maroon 5‘s ‘Moves Like Jagger’ with Christina Aguilera; Lupe Fiasco‘s ‘The Show Goes On’; and many more.  [Text re-posted from Popcrush.com]

DJ Earworm made some changes in his song selection process 2011. In efforts to better reflect the year, he created a system that drew from the weekly charts from throughout 2011 that ensures that all the late-breaking hits, such as “We Found Love” & “Sexy and I Know It”, were included in the 2011 mix. 

Video Credits:

Brian Benson who made this art and all Earworm illustration and art,
Oiseaux who introduced some compositing magic.
Tatiana for her production support

Song List:
    Adele – Rolling In The Deep
    Adele – Someone Like You
    Black Eyed Peas – Just Can’t Get Enough
    Bruno Mars – Grenade
    Bruno Mars – The Lazy Song
    Britney Spears – Till The World Ends
    Cee Lo Green – F* You
    Enrique Iglesias – Tonight (I’m Lovin’ You)
    Foster the People – Pumped Up Kicks
    Jennifer Lopez – On The Floor
    Jeremih feat. 50 cent – Down On Me
    Katy Perry – Firework
    Katy Perry – E.T.
    Katy Perry – Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)
    Lady Gaga – Born This Way
    LMFAO – Party Rock Anthem
    LMFAO – Sexy and I Know It
    Lupe Fiasco – The Show Goes On
    Maroon 5 – Moves Like Jagger
    Nicki Minaj – Super Bass
    OneRepublic – Good Life
    Pink – Raise Your Glass
    Pitbull – Give Me Everything
    Rihanna – S&M
    Rihanna – We Found Love

Last year,  DJ Earworm whose real name is Jordan Roseman brought "Don't Stop the Pop" as a theme. He mashed up hit singles by Ke$ha, Lady Antebellum, Train, Usher, B.o.B, Eminem, Taio Cruz, Mike Posner, Travis McCoy, Iyaz, Jay-Z and Jason Derulo. Artists like GaGa, Riri, Katy and Bruno, who are on this year's list, were included as well.

No comments:

Post a Comment